The Demoness: The Best Bangladeshi Stories, 1971-2021


Extra shipping and handling will be computed at checkout.

Authors: Various
Edited by Niaz Zaman

9789390652181 | PB | pp. 328 | 2021 | Aleph Book Company

The Demoness is a collection of some of the finest Bangladeshi literature dating from before the nation’s independence to the present day. It brings to life the traumatic effect of war on ordinary people.

Ships in 2-4 days

Published to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of Bangladesh’s Independence, the twenty-seven stories in this collection feature the finest short fiction from the nation–since before it achieved independence in 1971 to the present day. Here, readers will find all the greats of Bangladeshi literature: in Kazi Nazrul Islam’s timeless masterpiece, ‘The Demoness’, a woman’s fury is unleashed when she learns that her husband is getting married again; ‘The Raincoat’ by Akhtaruzzaman Elias brings to life the traumatic effect of war on ordinary people; Shawkat Ali’s ‘The Final Resting Place’ is concerned with love, grief, and the human capacity for recovery; in Hasan Azizul Huq’s ‘Nameless and Casteless’, an unnamed protagonist accidentally witnesses the hidden horrors of war; and Anwara Syed Haq’s ‘Pagli’ is a sharp commentary on madness and trauma. Exceptional in subject, theme, and style, these and the other stories in The Demoness reveal an extraordinary picture of a land and its people.


Editor: Niaz Zaman







Year of Publication:



Aleph Book Company





Country of Origin:


About the Author

The author retired as Professor of English, University of Dhaka, and is, at present, Advisor, Department of English, Independent University, Bangladesh. Her published work includes the award-winning A Divided Legacy: The Partition in Selected Novels of India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. She is also a creative writer and has published novels as well as short stories. She has edited several anthologies including Selected Short Stories from Bangladesh; The Escape and Other Stories of 1947; 1971 and After: Selected Stories; Under the Krishnachura: Fifty Years of Bangladeshi Writing; Arshilat; and Contemporary Short Stories from Bangladesh.

In 2016, she received the prestigious Bangla Academy Award for Translation. Her other awards include the Anannya Sahitya Puruskar (2013) and the Lekhika Sangha Award (2015).


This book will be shipped in 2 days’ time. The time taken for you to receive the book after it is shipped will depend upon the mode you choose, while completing your purchase. The rates applicable for each mode are different. You will be informed after the order is shipped. Shipping costs depend on the mode chosen, the weight of the item, and the distance it will travel to reach its destination. Shipping costs will be charged depending on the weight of the entire purchase (if more than one item is purchased). The same shipping mode will apply to all products in such a case.

You may also like…

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.