Night Music


Author: Theodor W. Adorno
Translated by Wieland Hoban

9780857427090 | PB | pp. 328 | 2019 | Seagull Books

Night Music is a collection of essays on music by the composer Theodor W. Adorno spanning the years 1928 to 1962.

Ships in 2-4 days

Out of stock

Spread the love


Although Theodor W. Adorno is best known for his association with the Frankfurt School of Critical Theory, he began his career as a composer and successful music critic. Night Music presents the first complete English translations of two collections of texts compiled by German philosopher and musicologist Adorno—Moments musicaux, containing essays written between 1928 and 1962, and Theory of New Music, a group of texts written between 1929 and 1955.

In Moments musicaux, Adorno echoes Schubert’s eponymous cycle, with its emphasis on aphorism, and offers lyrical reflections on music of the past and his own time. The essays include extended aesthetic analyses that demonstrate Adorno’s aim to apply high philosophical standards to the study of music. Theory of New Music, as its title indicates, presents Adorno’s thoughts and theories on the composition, reception, and analysis of the music that was being written around him. His extensive philosophical writing ultimately prevented him from pursuing the compositional career he had once envisaged, but his view of the modern music of the time is not simply that of a theorist, but clearly also that of a composer. Though his advocacy of the Second Viennese School, comprising composer Arnold Schoenberg and his pupils, is well known, many of his writings in this field have remained obscure. Collected in their entirety for the first time in English, the insightful texts in Night Music show the breadth of Adorno’s musical understanding and reveal an overlooked side to this significant thinker.

Additional information


Theodor W. Adorno
Translator: Wieland Hoban




Seagull Books





Year of Publication:






Country of Origin:


About the Author

The author was one of the most important philosophers and social critics in Germany after World War II. He studied philosophy with the neo-Kantian Hans Cornelius and music composition with Alban Berg. He has written Minima Moralia, Philosophy of Modern Music, and Prisms, among many other books.


This book will be shipped in 2 days. The time taken for you to receive it will depend upon the mode you choose, while completing your purchase.

The rates applicable for each mode are different. You will be informed after the order is shipped. Shipping costs depend on the mode chosen, the weight of the item, and the distance it will travel to reach its destination.

Shipping costs will be charged depending on the weight of the entire purchase (if more than one item is purchased). The same shipping mode will apply to all products in such a case.

You may also like…

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.